Coverart for item
The Resource When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese

When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese

Label
When breath becomes air
Title
When breath becomes air
Statement of responsibility
Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--
Summary
A young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal diagnosis describes his examination into what truly makes a meaningful life
Tone
Award
  • Goodreads Choice Award, 2016
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2016
  • Library Journal Best Books, 2016
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10462715
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kalanithi, Paul
Dewey number
  • 616.99/424
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
RC280.L8
LC item number
K35 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Kalanithi, Paul
  • Lungs
  • Neurosurgeons
  • Married people
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • MEDICAL / General
  • SOCIAL SCIENCE / Death & Dying
Target audience
adult
Label
When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
909925278
Dimensions
20 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xix, 228 pages
Isbn
9780812988406
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015023815
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Label
When breath becomes air, Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
909925278
Dimensions
20 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xix, 228 pages
Isbn
9780812988406
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015023815
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...