Coverart for item
The Resource The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever, Jamie Wright

The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever, Jamie Wright

Label
The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever
Title
The very worst missionary
Title remainder
a memoir or whatever
Statement of responsibility
Jamie Wright
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "The reason you love Jamie (or are about to) is because she says exactly what the rest of us are thinking, but we're too afraid to upset the apple cart. She is a voice for the outlier, and we're famished for what she has to say."--Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxie and For the Love Wildly popular blogger "Jamie the Very Worst Missionary" delivers a searing, offbeat, often hilarious memoir of spiritual disintegration and re-formation. As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair. Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary-awkward, doubtful, and vocal-is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need. The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans
  • Shares the author's experiences as an enthusiastic convert to Christianity whose experiences as a missionary left her feeling like a cynical failure, until she started a blog that opened her eyes to like-minded Christians and the value of their perspective
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
FSP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wright, Jamie,
Dewey number
  • 266.0092
  • B
Index
index present
LC call number
BV2843.C7
LC item number
W75 2018
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Hatmaker, Jen,
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wright, Jamie
  • Missionaries
  • Jews
  • Christian converts from Judaism
  • Christian converts from Judaism
  • Jews
  • Missionaries
  • Costa Rica
http://bibfra.me/vocab/relation/writerofforeword
zT4bLt56PFo
Label
The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever, Jamie Wright
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Contents
Foreword / by Jen Hatmaker -- Introduction -- Part 1. The odd early years -- The very worst missionary -- Jew-ISH -- Tough -- A butt-hair-milkshake love story -- I'm not done -- Part 2. An unconventional faith -- Good Christian -- Years of plenty -- Bad Christian -- Get real -- Adventure us -- Part 3. What in the actual hell -- Raise your hand -- Surprise -- The butterfly eater -- The very worst year -- Friday-night lights -- Part 4. Fix it, Jesus -- The scales fall -- Natural-born blogger -- Practical magic -- Suck with knives -- Do your best
Control code
1034956267
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xvii, 221 pages
Isbn
9780451496539
Lccn
2017058590
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Label
The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever, Jamie Wright
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Contents
Foreword / by Jen Hatmaker -- Introduction -- Part 1. The odd early years -- The very worst missionary -- Jew-ISH -- Tough -- A butt-hair-milkshake love story -- I'm not done -- Part 2. An unconventional faith -- Good Christian -- Years of plenty -- Bad Christian -- Get real -- Adventure us -- Part 3. What in the actual hell -- Raise your hand -- Surprise -- The butterfly eater -- The very worst year -- Friday-night lights -- Part 4. Fix it, Jesus -- The scales fall -- Natural-born blogger -- Practical magic -- Suck with knives -- Do your best
Control code
1034956267
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xvii, 221 pages
Isbn
9780451496539
Lccn
2017058590
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...