The Resource The Paris seamstress, Natasha Lester

The Paris seamstress, Natasha Lester

Label
The Paris seamstress
Title
The Paris seamstress
Statement of responsibility
Natasha Lester
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes a World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family. 1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother--a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life
Summary
1940. Parisian seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee France as the Germans advance. She is bound for Manhattan with a few francs, one suitcase, her sewing machine and a dream: to have her own atelier. 2015. Australian curator Fabienne Bissette journeys to the annual Met Gala for an exhibition of her beloved grandmother's work - one of the world's leading designers of ready-to-wear clothing. But as Fabienne learns more about her grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and secrets - and the sacrifices made for love.
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Award
Librarians' Choice (Australia), 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10638063
Cataloging source
RECBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1973-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lester, Natasha
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.L47
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Costume Institute (New York, N.Y.)
  • Costume Institute (New York, N.Y.)
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • FICTION
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Fashion designers
  • Women dressmakers
  • Young women
  • French
  • Fashion designers
  • French
  • Social conditions
  • Women dressmakers
  • Young women
  • Manhattan (New York, N.Y.)
  • New York (State)
  • New York (State)
  • United States
Target audience
adult
Label
The Paris seamstress, Natasha Lester
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed April 02, 2018)
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
on1030417572
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781538714751
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00719921
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
1DEFBE46-0035-4820-A7E3-8EC2C35B910E
Label
The Paris seamstress, Natasha Lester
Link
Publication
Note
Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed April 02, 2018)
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
on1030417572
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781538714751
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00719921
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
1DEFBE46-0035-4820-A7E3-8EC2C35B910E

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...