The Resource The Girl in the Castle, Santa Montefiore

The Girl in the Castle, Santa Montefiore

Label
The Girl in the Castle
Title
The Girl in the Castle
Statement of responsibility
Santa Montefiore
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century?perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor. Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched?even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds. Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested?and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland
Member of
Summary
A first installment in a trilogy follows the experiences of Kitty, who enjoys a life of privilege on Ireland's wild countryside at the side of an increasingly resentful best friend and the vet's son she loves, until the Irish revolt threatens her beloved home
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10523657
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Montefiore, Santa
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.O544
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Deverill chronicles
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Ireland
Target audience
adult
Label
The Girl in the Castle, Santa Montefiore
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn957346326
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062456878
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
150B15D2-49AA-4ED6-AA13-6927C080CBCB
Label
The Girl in the Castle, Santa Montefiore
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn957346326
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062456878
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
150B15D2-49AA-4ED6-AA13-6927C080CBCB

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...