The Resource That Darkness, Lisa Black

That Darkness, Lisa Black

Label
That Darkness
Title
That Darkness
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Black
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In this tour de force of psychological suspense, bestselling author Lisa Black draws from her experience as a forensic investigator to create two of the most fascinating characters in crime fiction: a killer with a unique sense of justice and a woman in a lifelong relationship with death... That Darkness As a forensic investigator for the Cleveland Police Department, Maggie Gardiner has seen her share of Jane Does. The latest is an unidentified female in her early teens, discovered in a local cemetery. More shocking than the girl's injuries?for Maggie at least?is the fact that no one has reported her missing. She and the detectives assigned to the case (including her cop ex-husband) are determined to follow every lead, run down every scrap of evidence. But the monster they seek is watching every move, closer to them than they could possibly imagine. Jack Renner is a killer. He doesn't murder because he enjoys it, or because he believes himself omnipotent, or for any reason other than to make the world a safer place. When he follows the trail of this Jane Doe to a locked room in a small apartment where eighteen teenaged girls are anything but safe, he knows something must be done. But his pursuit of their captor takes an unexpected turn. Maggie Gardiner finds another body waiting for her in the autopsy room?and a host of questions that will challenge everything she believes about justice, morality, and the true nature of evil ... Praise For Lisa Black and her bestselling novels "Lisa Black writes with immediacy and unmatched authenticity." ?Jeff Lindsay, New York Times bestselling author of the DEXTER series "In Black's skillful hands, you're in for a surprise...a gifted storyteller." ?Ridley Pearson "A must-read for fans of Cornwell and Grafton." ? Booklist "Black, who is a forensic scientist, certainly knows her field." ? Publishers Weekly "Quite simply, one of the best storytellers around." ?Tess Gerritsen "Highly entertaining...Fans of forensic thrillers will look forward to seeing more." ? Library Journal "Pulse-pounding adventure...devilishly clever." ? Mystery Scene "Lisa Black heightens the suspense." ? South Florida Sun-Sentinel
Member of
Summary
In this tour de force of psychological suspense, bestselling author Lisa Black draws from her experience as a forensic investigator to create two of the most fascinating characters in crime fiction: a killer with a unique sense of justice and a woman in a lifelong relationship with death
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10481028
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1963-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Black, Lisa
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.E283
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Maggie Gardiner and Jack Renner novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
  • Forensic scientists
  • Murder
Target audience
adult
Label
That Darkness, Lisa Black
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn947963022
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781420101898
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
E8479D41-6062-4DE9-8593-9E6F58CB981E
Label
That Darkness, Lisa Black
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn947963022
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781420101898
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
E8479D41-6062-4DE9-8593-9E6F58CB981E

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...