The Resource Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse

Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse

Label
Take this man : a memoir
Title
Take this man
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Brando Skyhorse
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of 'Brando Skyhorse,' the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last. From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his 'indelible storytelling' (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic"--
Summary
"From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of 'Brando Skyhorse,' the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last. From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his 'indelible storytelling' (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literarymemoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic"--
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10290169
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Skyhorse, Brando
Dewey number
  • 818/.603
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.K947
LC item number
Z468 2014
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Skyhorse, Brando
  • Skyhorse, Brando
  • Authors, American
  • Authors, American
  • Mothers and sons
  • Fathers and sons
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • Mexican Americans
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Literary Figures
  • FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Alternative Family
  • Echo Park (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Los Angeles (Calif.)
Target audience
adult
Label
Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
876368008
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781439170892
Isbn Type
(trade paperback)
Lccn
2013047740
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n
Label
Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
876368008
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781439170892
Isbn Type
(trade paperback)
Lccn
2013047740
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...