The Resource Station eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel

Station eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel

Label
Station eleven : a novel
Title
Station eleven
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Emily St. John Mandel
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame, and ambition set in the eerie days of civilization's collapse, from the author of three highly acclaimed previous novels. One snowy night a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve. Moving back and forth in time-from the actor's early days as a film star to fifteen years in the future, when a theater troupe known as the Traveling Symphony roams the wasteland of what remains-this suspenseful, elegiac, spellbinding novel charts the strange twists of fate that connect five people: the actor, the man who tried to save him, the actor's first wife, his oldest friend, and a young actress with the Traveling Symphony, caught in the crosshairs of a dangerous self-proclaimed prophet. Sometimes terrifying, sometimes tender, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it
Related Authorities
  • z3dv-MoPK44
  • jRut87yN8uE
  • wrhcBaL2ySU
  • e6Y2eL_k-2s
  • WnSe0fCY9T4
  • aESbdUM9HJg
  • b-QAefTkuao
  • P95XsLAiVos
  • BiNpanADX4k
  • GDl-_vXZt7Q
  • lJF560y8Y7g
  • -_WVBG5u0q0
  • rhq6qCjdJ8c
  • 7ICC-Rxn_Co
  • gOdujFQRZbQ
  • ADtDogIPDmY
  • fPdo8p9Pcp0
  • -EfVUWn3A18
  • LDa-sfsaF_k
  • jDFIpCBGxic
Related Subjects
  • A3gQXn7QJIE
  • v3l2g1QkvYA
  • -E6ttXEZSqc
  • -JTPZkJqUJU
  • c6Ss49wULxA
  • C40D7MiQ8p4
  • SmxJfCvF8-o
  • ETy1m9jpO-I
  • fzuOLuPmiIY
  • KO6_abNvuxw
  • As5XJguecdo
  • cLCyMMA8x5A
  • loXvPEzAoZs
  • RiUcXvCl8a4
  • sNp06PPnK2U
  • -TyxCLABLMo
  • 8R0ZdfKS0pI
  • liGFocvXu0A
  • W8kbFWb-YVM
  • LtGZkiv4Bjw
Related Context
  • CYtqFx7bYIc
  • 8CnrWbVuWX4
  • WRUGuThHyr0
  • TqcSmcSd9WA
  • bTJluOqQECQ
  • -PRVuxh_90E
  • 1CK1FC6Wkqg
  • iSD267mZwaY
  • YVFFL-thO_w
  • 8NCTfanLh4M
Related by recommendation
  • uy-4zsxgRBo
  • tGV6FHHDLaw
  • I7e0vPQeSiE
  • KsHRF5RRW1Y
  • augrIJVP9Wk
  • uqmh9qWq0rk
  • SmP6O6oNjmE
  • h23jl1VAtNA
  • q06D5yEMJmQ
  • XF6SeTlE03s
  • py7hlN2hBRE
  • 5gEdubuv1g8
  • ehUNQHK6InU
  • BHekA0gSC0Y
  • dNZQ4ukaTT4
  • UAECXALhBCo
  • 7N8by4Gn5O8
  • hbCmKnvOk1Y
  • _3-3R2-48OM
  • gBxM8ki4pZM
  • JOt5OMLrVy8
  • 9s8E1CQbw84
  • Vj0F3veW8k4
  • CFiHC8ldWw4
  • YwACUf8IK-0
  • oF5ilfylxLM
  • 3B3rrw5H5F8
  • hafn97zOORo
  • gEhGXSDvVFM
  • Y9N9UKfU_fs
Title
Station Eleven
Creator
Summary
An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson. -- Janet Lockhart for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Story line
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • ALA Notable Book, 2015.
  • Arthur C. Clarke Award, 2015.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2014.
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2014
  • Toronto Book Awards, 2015.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10312102
Cataloging source
RECBK
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.S727
Literary form
unknown
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Emily St. John Mandel
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
Station 11
Station eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel
Label
Station eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel
Link
http://evpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=71756B04-EB6F-44D2-B2EA-6C92FBF44658
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn883283858
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=III21&Password=BT0005&Return=T&Type=M&Value=9780385353311&erroroverride=1
Dimensions
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'ALL_BRANCHES': 'http://encore.evpl.org/iii/encore/record/C__Rb2236504'}
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780385353311
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00272711
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
71756B04-EB6F-44D2-B2EA-6C92FBF44658

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...