Coverart for item
The Resource "Are you there alone?" : the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates, Suzanne O'Malley

"Are you there alone?" : the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates, Suzanne O'Malley

Label
"Are you there alone?" : the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates
Title
"Are you there alone?"
Title remainder
the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates
Statement of responsibility
Suzanne O'Malley
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it. As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses. O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041. O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case. In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system
Member of
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
Midwest
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/collectionName
hoopla (Digital media service)
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1951-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
O'Malley, Suzanne
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
other
PerformerNote
Read by Becky Ann Baker
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Baker, Becky Ann
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Infanticide
  • Filicide
  • Women murderers
  • Trials (Murder)
  • Postpartum psychiatric disorders
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
"Are you there alone?" : the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates, Suzanne O'Malley
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
other
Carrier category code
  • sz
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
MWT11373716
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Abridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (360 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780743539296
Isbn Type
(sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • s
Other physical details
digital.
Publisher number
MWT11373716
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
11373716
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
"Are you there alone?" : the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates, Suzanne O'Malley
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
other
Carrier category code
  • sz
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
MWT11373716
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Abridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (360 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780743539296
Isbn Type
(sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
  • s
Other physical details
digital.
Publisher number
MWT11373716
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
11373716
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    200 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.971461 -87.565988
  • East BranchBorrow it
    840 E Chandler Ave., Evansville, IN, 47713, US
    37.965908 -87.550480
  • McCollough BranchBorrow it
    5115 Washington Ave., Evansville, IN, 47715, US
    37.961977 -87.488508
  • North Park BranchBorrow it
    960 Koehler Dr., Evansville, IN, 47710, US
    38.026947 -87.577202
  • Oaklyn BranchBorrow it
    3001 Oaklyn Dr., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    38.010718 -87.511553
  • Red Bank BranchBorrow it
    120 S Red Bank Rd., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.977988 -87.636409
  • Stringtown BranchBorrow it
    2100 Stringtown Rd., Evansville, IN, 47711, US
    37.996832 -87.555245
  • West BranchBorrow it
    2000 W Franklin St., Evansville, IN, 47712, US
    37.979875 -87.594773
Processing Feedback ...